What does h. i. v. positive mean?

An HIV-positive diagnosis means that the individual has contracted the human immunodeficiency virus, the virus that may lead to the condition acquired immunodeficiency syndrome, also called AIDS or stage 3 HIV. A person can have an HIV infection without having AIDS; the reverse is not true.