What is garage masala?

Garam masala is a spice blend widely used in Indian cuisine, like curries, lentil dishes and soups. Whole spices of cinnamon, mace, peppercorns, coriander seeds, cumin seeds, and cardamom pods are toasted in a pan to release their aromatic flavors, then they're ground into a powder.