When did the pope resign?

Pope Benedict XVI resigned as Pope on February 28th 2013, becoming the first pope to retire in 600 years. He died at age 95 on December 31, 2022.

---

Pope Benedict XVI resigned as Pope on 28 Feb 2013, citing his advanced age and declining health as the main reasons for his decision. He was the first pope to resign since Pope Gregory XII in 1415, and his abdication was seen as a surprise to many people. He died on 31 Dec 2022, at age 95.