Who started las vegas?

According to Wikipedia, the name Las Vegas was given to the city in 1829 by Rafael Rivera, a Spanish explorer and merchant trader. Las Vegas means "the meadows" in Spanish. At the time, parts of the local valley had artesian wells, surrounded by green meadows.