What year was vinegar made?

Legend has it that a courtier in Babylonia discovered wine from unattended grape juice, leading to the eventual discovery of vinegar and its use as a food preservative in 5000 BC. In 420 BC Hippocrates used vinegar medicinally to manage wounds.

---

The first documented evidence of vinegar making and use was by the Ancient Babylonians around 3000 BC. They primarily made vinegar from dates, figs, and beer and used it for both culinary and medicinal purposes. Traces of it also have been found in Egyptian urns.