What is this word e. m. e. r. a. l. d.?

E-M-E-R-A-L-D spells "emerald," the name of a precious gemstone. Its color lends its name to a rich shade of green.

---

Emerald is a gemstone and a variety of the mineral beryl colored green by trace amounts of chromium and/or sometimes vanadium.