How long can a human live in space?

Exposure up to 30 seconds in a vacuum, as in space, is unlikely to cause permanent physical damage. Animal experiments show that rapid and complete recovery is normal for exposure shorter than 90 seconds, while longer full-body exposures are fatal and resuscitation has never been successful.