What is ice bucket challenge?

The Ice Bucket Challenge, is recording the pouring of a bucket of ice water over a person's head, either by another person or self-administered, to promote awareness of the disease amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig's disease) and encourage donations to research.