Who is pauline from super mario?

Pauline was the original damsel-in-distress. Her lover, Mario must rescue her from Donkey Kong. Pauline was simply referred to as "Lady" in Japan. It was during the game's US distribution she was given the name Pauline after Polly James, the wife of Nintendo of America's warehouse manager, Don James