Was there a pirate named blackbeard?

Edward Teach, better known as Blackbeard, was an English pirate who operated around the West Indies and the eastern coast of Britain's North American colonies.

---

There was not a pirate named Blackbeard but Edward Teach was nicknamed Blackbeard.