Why does paper cover rock?

Rock, Paper and Scissors are arbitrary tokens. Water douses Fire, Fire burns Wood, and Wood floats on Water would work just as well if hand gestures could be devised. What matters is that each prevails over exactly one of the other two. Since Rock prevails over Scissors, it must lose to Paper.