What year did pagers come out?

Pagers & the paging system have had a graduated introduction. In 1921, pagers were invented. In 1949, the telephone pager was patented & used by Detroit PD. In 1958, they were approved for public use, but not widely used. The 1980s saw their popularity rise & 1994 saw 61 million pagers in use.