What is iron level in minecraft?

Iron is fairly evenly spread out from about ten blocks below sea level all the way to bedrock. Dig all the way down to bedrock, then go back up about ten blocks and start digging. Might as well look for iron, diamond, coal, gold, and lapis at the same time. Also check out deep caves.