Why are orbeez called orbeez?

Orbeez is the trade name for gel beads that grow significantly in water. They were originally invented in the 1960s as a way to keep moisture in soil for plants. An orb is a spherical body or a globe, so they were called "Orb-ees" as a catchy brand name.

---

Orbeez is the trade name for gel beads that grow significantly in water. They were originally invented in the 1960s as a way to keep moisture in soil for plants. An orb is a spherical body or a globe, so they were called "Orb-ees" as a catchy brand name.