How do you propagate basil?

Remove the leaves off the basil cutting about 2 inches (5 cm.) ... Use a clear glass so you can watch your basil propagation grow roots. Change the water every few days until you see root growth, then leave your basil propagation roots to grow to about 2 inches (5 cm.) or so