Why do babies cry when they are first born?

Babies cry when they are born because they need to get all the amniotic fluid out of their lungs. It’s the first time their lungs are used to breathe air. Babies may let out several cries at birth depending on how much fluid there is to expel from the lungs, until they can breathe normally.