What is spare the air day?

Spare the Air is a program established by the Bay Area Air Quality Management District in 1991 to combat air pollution during the summer in the San Francisco Bay Area. Spare the Air days are declared for days in which levels of ground-level ozone are predicted to exceed the EPA's standard.