How do you boil eggs on the stove?

Start with cold water enough to cover the eggs plus two inches. Add a tablespoon of salt. Cover the pot and bring to a boil. Soft boiled eggs are ready in three to four minutes. Hard boiled eggs in eight to nine minutes. The shell comes off easier if the eggs are placed in ice water after boiling.