What happens if you don't put baking powder in cookies?

If you don't put baking soda in cookies the cookies don't rise. The result would be a sweet flat bread.

---

If you leave baking powder out of your cookies, your cookies will be edible, but they’ll be denser and won’t rise or puff. They won’t have the chemical reaction necessary to do that without the baking powder.