Are donuts deep fried?

Yes. According to Wikipedia, doughnuts are usually deep fried from a flour dough, and typically ring-shaped or a number of shapes without a hole, and often filled. Doughnuts may also include water, leavening, eggs, milk, sugar, oil, shortening, and natural or artificial flavors.