Where did the phrase don't tread on me originate?

In 1775, as the American Revolution began, South Carolina politician Christopher Gadsden expanded on Franklin's idea, and possibly the red-and-white flag as well, when he created the yellow flag with a coiled rattler and the same phrase: “Don't Tread On Me.”