What is a murder tree?

Cerbera odollam, a native to India is known as murder tree. It belongs to the Apocynaceae family, which includes the yellow and common oleanders. The seeds contain cerberin, a cardenolide toxin that blocks calcium ion channels in heart muscle, causing heart palpitation diarrhea, and vomiting.