When was the candle invented?

The invention of candles may have occurred roughly 5,000 years ago by ancient Egyptians who made torches by soaking the core of reeds in melted animal fat. However, ancient Romans may have developed candles with wicks about the same time by dipping rolled papyrus in melted tallow or beeswax.