What growing zone is kansas in?

The United States Department of Agriculture has divided the country into zones to help growers know which plants are suitable for which areas. Kansas falls into hardiness zones 5 and 6. Zone 5 covers most of the northern half of the state while zone 6 makes up most of the south.