How long does it take to grill a new york steak?

Place steaks on the grill & cook until golden brown and slightly charred, 4 to 5 minutes. Turn the steaks over & continue to grill 3 to 5 minutes for medium-rare (an internal temperature of 135 degrees F), 5 to 7 minutes for medium (140 degrees F) or 8 to 10 minutes for medium-well (150 degrees F).