Does asparagus grow above ground?

The part of the asparagus plant that you find in the store and eat, is the part that begins growing above ground in the spring. If left uncut, the asparagus will eventually form a small shrub of asparagus ferns, which florists prize and often include in a bouquet of roses and other flowers.