Who is a pony?

A pony is a small horse. Depending on the context, a pony may be a horse that is under an approximate or exact height at the 14.2hh withers, or a small horse with a specific conformation and temperament.

---

A pony is a small member of the horse family. In general, a pony is less than 14.2 hands high, but may grow taller. Ponies tend to have thicker coats than horses, with a thick mane & tail. However, ponies are also stubborn and very intelligent, and can be more difficult to manage than horses.