How long do you boil tomatoes to remove the skin?

Prep the tomatoes by removing their cores, and with a knife, make an X on the bottom of each tomato. Gently place in boiling water with a slotted spoon for 30 to 60 seconds. They are ready when the skin at the X starts to loosen. Immediately transfer to an ice bath to stop cooking, then peel.