Is the arrow nots based on a true story?

The events of the film are based on flights detailed in the 2013 book 'Falling Upwards: How We Took to the Air' by author and academic Richard Holmes. “A top priority for us on The Aeronauts is authenticity," said producer Todd Lieberman while the film was in production.