Does garlic make you bloated?

Like onions, garlic contains fructans, which are FODMAPs that can cause bloating. Allergy or intolerance to other compounds found in garlic is also fairly common, with symptoms such as bloating, belching and gas. However, cooking the garlic may reduce these effects