What's the purpose of underwear?

Underwear provides a comfortable layer of clothing next to the skin and intimate areas. Underwear also can help with hygiene and cleanliness by absorbing moisture and sweat, reducing the need to wash the outer garments. Underwear can be washed more often with less trouble.