What is the american civil war?

The American Civil War was a rebellion of the southern states. They seceded from the Union because of questions around the policy of slavery & the two factions battled for supremacy from April 12, 1861 to April 9, 1865, when the southern leader, General Robert E. Lee, surrendered.