What's the difference between a townhome and a condo?

Both are forms of living units that may be purchased or rented. Condo is a broader term that encompasses a variety of types, such as patio home, condo apartment (multiple units in one building), or townhome. Townhomes tend to have upper and lower levels. Both are multiple-unit dwellings.