What does m. e. q. stand for?

mEq stands for milliequivalent. Many medical tests report the results in milliequivalents per litre. An equivalent is the amount of a substance that will react with a certain amount of hydrogen ions. A milliequivalent ,is one-thousandth of an equivalent.