Is there such a thing as a five thousand dollar bill?

Yes, the U.S. 5,000 dollar bill, was last printed in the late 1930's and 1940's, with a series date of 1934 printed on the bill. They were last issued out in 1969. They do remain legal tender. Any that find their way back to the Federal Reserve, are destroyed and replaced with current smaller bills.