Who sang the song i fought the law?

“ I Fought the Law" was written by Sonny Curtis of the Crickets and popularized by a cover by the Bobby Fuller Four, a top-ten hit in 1966. A version by Sam Neely charted in 1975. The song was also recorded by the Clash in 1979. A version with different lyrics was recorded by the Dead Kennedys.