What is the biggest fire ever recorded?

The Chinchaga Fire started in logging slash in British Columbia, Canada, on 1 June 1950 that grew out of control and ended five months later on 31 October in Alberta. It burned approximately 1.2 million hectares (3 million acres) of boreal forest.