What's the restraining order?

A restraining order is a legal order sometimes issued to keep a situation unchanged pending decision upon an application for an injunction, or a legal order issued against an individual to restrict or prohibit access or proximity to another specified individual

---

A restraining order is issued by a court to protect a person in a situation involving alleged violence, abuse, assault, harassment, or sexual assault. They establish who can file for an order, what protection a person can get, and how the order is enforced.