What was the first major battle of the revolutionary war?

Battle of Long Island, also known as the Battle of Brooklyn or the Battle of Brooklyn Heights, in the American Revolution, successful British action in Brooklyn, New York, against the American Continental Army and the first major battle of the war since the American declaration of independence