Where do flax seeds come from?

Flax seed comes from the flax plant which was originally cultivated in Egypt but now has been cultivated around the world.

---

Flax seeds come from flax plants. Flax, also known as common flax or linseed, is a flowering plant, Linum usitatissimum, in the family Linaceae. It is cultivated as a food and fiber crop in regions of the world with temperate climates.