What does the term dog days of summer mean?

The term can be traced to Greek and Roman origin and notes the fact that Sirius, the Dog Star, rises at the same time as the sun. It is roughly the beginning of July to mid-August and typically marked by heat and humidity that cause people to avoid energetic activity.