Do elephants remember everything?

The saying "an elephant never forgets" is a generalization that's not true all the time because all elephants forget things from time to time. However, scientists have proven that elephants do have incredible memories.

---

Elephants have incredible memories, especially for their family members. There have been documented cases where two female elepants remembered each other decades after being separated. The loud trumpeting and holding of trunks was heart rending and warming.