How sharp is obsidian?

Well-crafted obsidian blades, like any glass knife, can have a cutting edge many times sharper than high-quality steel surgical scalpels: the cutting edge of the blade is only about 3 nanometers thick. ... Obsidian scalpels may currently be purchased for surgical use on research animals.