What's the difference between a yellow and a white onion?

Spanish onions are a kind of yellow onion and are slightly sweeter and more delicate in flavor. White Onions tend to have a sharper and more pungent flavor than yellow onions. They also tend to be more tender and have a thinner, more papery skin.

---

A yellow onion is sweeter than a white onion. Either one cable used for cooking.