Are there more cats or dogs in the u. s.?

There are more cats than dogs in the U.S., with 86 million owned cats compared to 78 million owned dogs. The reason is that cat people like higher numbers with 52% owning more than one cat, as compared to dog owners where only 40% own more than one dog.