How fast is the jet stream?

It depends. The greater the difference in air temperature, the faster the jet stream, which can reach speeds of up to 250 mph or greater, but average about 110 mph. Both the Northern and Southern hemispheres have jet streams, although the jet streams in the north are more forceful.