Why do you say bless you when someone sneezes?

National Geographic reports that during the Roman Plague of 590, Pope Gregory I ordered that anyone sneezing be blessed immediately, since sneezing was often the first sign that someone was falling ill with the plague. By AD 750, it was customary to say "God bless you" as a response to one sneezing.