When was the atom bomb used?

On August 6, 1945, the United States dropped its first atomic bomb from a B-29 bomber plane called the Enola Gay on Japanese city of Hiroshima. When the Japanese did not immediately surrender, the United States dropped a second atomic bomb three days later on the city of Nagasaki.