What year was santa claus coming to town made?

1934. For the Rankin Bass animation 1970. written by J. Fred Coots and Haven Gillespie, sung on Eddie Cantor's radio show in November of 34. The version for Bluebird Records by George Hall and His Orchestra (vocal by Sonny Schuyler) was a hit in 1934.