What is criminal charges mean?

A charge is an accusation, typically one formally made against a prisoner brought to trial. So criminal charges would be accusations that someone has broken the law somehow.

---

A criminal charge is a formal accusation made by a governmental authority asserting that somebody has committed a crime.